As  the summer vacation seems to be a good time to take stock of where things are, I thought I’d share a few bits of news.  First, the bad news: I didn’t get the British Academy Postgraduate Research Fellowship for which I was shortlisted, which was disappointing to say the least. I am, however, very proud to have got through the first 800+ applicants in order to be shortlisted among the 120 or so candidates for the second stage. Apparently, due to a reduction in funding, fewer fellowships were given than normal.  The next step is to redraft it ready for the next call.

In good news, though, I’ve finished the draft of my monograph and it’s gone to the publishers’ readers for their reviews.  I’m continuing to work, holidays allowing, on another article, while my article for Literature Compass on epitaphs should be appearing any time now.  I will be returning to Holy Cross College in Bury to teach on their undergraduate early modern history course next year, and I’ve got a couple of secondary school students to tutor, which is a bit different and good fun.

In the autumn I will be presenting a paper at a conference on Mary I, and I’ve been invited to give a paper at the Oxford University early modern seminar series.  All in all, not a bad place to be.

