In a quick post this afternoon, I just wanted to draw your attention to a new blog by my friend Christopher Henstock: Early Modern Spanish Texts in Context.  Chris and I met at Manchester University, and we share an interest in the woman that one of my friends referred to as ‘that mad Spanish nun’, Luisa de Carvajal, although Chris knows far more about her than I ever will. Luisa became possibly the first female missionary of modern times when she arrived in London in the wake of the Gunpowder Plot and tried to convert people to her Roman Catholic faith. As you might imagine, this made her extremely unpopular with sections of the London community and she spent two spells in prison, the second of which probably contributed to her death.  In his new blog, Chris is going to untangle the various drafts of Luisa’s autograph religious vows.

