Really, there is only one: to finish the thesis.

It’s been a while since I had time to update the blog, mainly because my work schedule has been so heavy, but also because my free time has been taken up, quite rightly, with family things: a holdiay, sports days, various local field days, that sort of thing. Over the last couple of months I have drafted my final chapter on news, my conclusion and my introduction. Now there is only one thing left to do – finish the thesis. The timeframe involved is scary. A neighbour pointed out that I can now count in weeks rather than months to submission – 11 or 12 – and my full draft needs to go to my supervisors in just a few weeks.

Redrafting an entire thesis is a scary business. The tiny detail of playing with footnotes is relatively easy and the perfectionist in me quite enjoys it; altering the structure of whole chapters is much more difficult and potentially dangerous. There is the possibility for whole chunks of writing to accidentally disappear into the ether without me even noticing. And once I’ve moved something, there are continuity issues to deal with. It’s not something I’m enjoying as much as I expected to, but that’s down to the time pressure more than anything else.

On a brighter note, last week I had the pleasure of presenting a paper to the IHR Tudor and Stuart Seminar Series. I met lots of lovely people, including my co-presenter, Rebecca Emmett. Great fun.

