I’ve spent a considerable proportion of the week splurging my second chapter.  Second only in the sense of the second one that I’ve written, not that it will necessarily be the second one in the thesis.  It feels good to have a bit more of it on paper, even if it isn’t really even a first draft.  It needs a lot of work, but as my supervisor wanted to see what I was up to I sent it  to him and he’s made some very helpful comments about the style and raised some interesting points about the ideas.  I’m really looking forward to talking it over at greater length when I see him.  It will need a lot of tidying up before it’s ready for my next panel meeting, but I’m very pleased that there is some potential in it at least.  Considering that there are more than 13000 words, that’s rather a relief.

My plan for this week is to revise my chapter plan and then finish off my ballad spreadsheet so that when I go in to the university campus I can ask print services to do a couple of copies for me.  It’s going to be rather large!  Then later in the week I will go back to the chapter and try to sort it out a bit.

Thomas Cromwell, chancellor of Henry VIII

Thomas Cromwell, chancellor of Henry VIII (Photo credit: lisby1)

