Anthonis Mor - Queen Mary Tudor of England - W...

Anthonis Mor – Queen Mary Tudor of England – WGA16178 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

Yesterday it was my great pleasure to give my first talk to a branch of the Historical Association in Manchester.  Called ‘No Lion Wilde, a Lion Tame – Popular Depictions of Mary I’, it was based the research I did for my first chapter on the ballads of the reign of Mary Tudor.  The audience seemed to enjoy it, and I thoroughly enjoyed the discussion it provoled at the end of the lecture.  What surprised me really was how much my ideas about Mary have developed since I wrote the chapter – there are a few things that I’d now like to change a bit, but we’ll have to see!

I must think about doing some more talks, perhaps for the H.A. but also for conferences.

