I have been reading ‘the Hunting and Finding out of the Romish Fox’ by William Turner. If I’m honest, it’s something I’ve been putting off because of the density of the text, but it’s actually turned out to be nothing like I expected. Obviously it’s heavily based on metaphor, but it’s rhetorical style is pretty easy to read. It reminds me of St Anselm’s argument for the existence of God in his Proslogion, which I studied years ago as an undergraduate, although quite why it made me think of it I’m not sure…

I’ve also been writing, a lot.  By today I’d reached about 9000 words, and I’m quite pleased, but I’ve not finished my analysis of this set of ballads yet.  Of course, it will need a lot of knocking into shape and revision, because it is a stream of thought at the moment.

