Interesting, although I’m not sure myself about the usefulness of twitter. Perhaps I just don’t use it enough, and I’m fairly confident that I don’t know how to make the most of it, but I have yet to work out how anyone has the time to folllow what everyone’s saying and filter the usefulness from the dross. That said, I’m sure I don’t use the blog to its full potential either. I’m getting on a bit as far as all this new-fangled technological stuff goes! Just call me granny….

sophiecoulombeau

Season of mists and mellow fruitfulness! It’s that time of year again. The air is crisp, the leaves are falling and York is suddenly thronged with freshers, both undergrads and postgrads – some bright-eyed and bushy-tailed, others clearly already suffering from the first of many appalling hangovers. I arrived here in York exactly two years ago (almost to the day). I remember my sense of wonder at the city itself – the fresh air after the smog of London, the glorious jumble of architecture ranging from the medieval to the kitsch, the buzz of the bars, the smell of warm chocolate from the Nestle factory – and this late September weather always rekindles in me that glorious sense of discovery, possession and potential that makes York such a very special place to live. But I also remember feeling terrified – that I’d left everything I knew to move to a…

View original post 2,393 more words

