I’ve now finished reading ‘Tudor Royal Iconography’ by John N. King which was interesting and pointed me in the direction of a few different sources.  Happily, neither of the two iconography books that I’ve read has used all the source material that I have.  I’m about to start reading Alice Hunt’s PhD thesis, and then I have some books on oral culture to look at.

This week I’ve also managed to work out how to persuade EndNote to separate my primary source material from the secondary.  This may not sound like much, but it’s hugely important and I was ridiculously pleased.

My children go back to school on Monday, and juggling my work with having them at home has proved rather a challenge.  Much as I like having them around, and I do, it is much easier to work when they are  out during the day.  My plan now is to work out exactly what source material I’ve got that no-one else has used, and what angle to take to make my thesis really original.  

Today I kept coming across references to Cranach.  I’ve been looking at some of the paintings and I can’t help thinking that none of the women have ever had a baby.  Or if they did, then the sixteenth century had some impressive personal trainers.  Not a single stretch mark in sight.  Not a sign of sagginess.  There are lots of extremely thin-waisted, Barbi-esque paintings of Judith carrying the head of Holofernes.  Mary I  was compared to Judith in several contemporary sources including a sermon by James Brooks.

