An interesting sort of week.  I have been trying to polish up my work, which is due in next Wednesday, but it’s impossible to switch off  from the analysis.  It keeps expanding instead of being cut!  I keep finding bits that need more explanation, so more explanation goes in, or another hour or two or more is lost looking for the further explanation.  Lost isn’t really the right word, I suppose, as it’s useful work, it just takes time.  Anyway, I think it’s improving.  I just hope that I get to tell my supervisory panel what I know the problems are and the areas where it needs more work before they tell me!

I spent two mornings this week watching research presentations by applicants for jobs in early modern history.  It was certainly an educative experience, in that you could see what the other staff were looking for in a colleague and what the standard questions and comments were.

